Bleeding Ink Author Spotlight – Madeline Barr

Welcome lovers of Dark Poetry to the Author Spotlight

Madeline Barr haunts Southern Ontario. She’s the keeper of critters and the breaker of bones. When possessed, she writes articles about lizards or ghosts. She’s also been known to conjure up the occasional sci-fi poem. Visit her website at http://madelinebarr.blogspot.com/ and follow her on twitter @MadelineBarr

Bleeding Ink Tale: You Are Not My Child

Ink Babes: Welcome to the Author Spotlight, Madeline. Please, tell us a little bit about yourself.

MB: I’m a wife and mother of two.  I usually keep my dark side to myself but it’s just started to slowly creep out. Most people who know me personally are usually surprised to read some of my darker work. On my blog I have broken down my creepy bio found in Bleeding Ink: http://madelinebarr.blogspot.ca/2012/07/my-bleeding-ink-bio-explained.html

Ink Babes: What sparked the idea for “You Are Not My Child”, your Bleeding Ink tale?
MB: A personal experience, a little curiosity, an over active imagination and some shadows in the dark.

Ink Babes: Ooh, dark shadows…always a great inspiration. What are you afraid of?
MB:I don’t like being alone when things go bump in the night. My over active imagination works double time when I’m tired.

Ink Babes: What is your favourite genre to write?
MB: I really enjoy writing silly stories and poems for children however I seem to be writing more and more scifi. I’ve had a scifi poem published in the print version of Scifaikuest and another is to be printed in their August issue as well as this poem in Bleeding Ink. I also have a scifi novel manuscript I’m working on.

Ink Babes: When you write, do you work with an outline?
MB: The way I work varies. The idea for this poem was bouncing around in my head for quite a while but I could never find a format or a home for it. Just as I learned Ink Babes were calling for submissions I also learned about the roundel poem format. Both were perfect fits.

Ink Babes: We agree. Your story is a perfect fit with our collection of dark tales. Madeline, we’d like to thank you for stepping out of that dark, inspirational place and into the spotlight. Before we dim the lights, is there anything that you would like to say to our Bleeding Ink readers?

MB: I hope the readers enjoy all the wonderful, creative stories and poems in Bleeding Ink.

Feel free to visit Madeline’s blog at http://madelinebarr.blogspot.ca/

Have you read Bleeding Ink – A Collection of Dark Tales?  Post a comment for a chance to win a copy!

Ever Yours,

The Ink Babes

Bleeding Ink Author Spotlight – Nicky Peacock

Welcome Fans of Fiction Dark and Deadly to the Bleeding Ink Spotlight

 Nicky Peacock is a British author based in the UK. She has stories included in US and UK anthologies, and a list of published work can be found here: http://www.creativemindswriting.co.uk/page18.htm Ramblings from her dark mind can be found on twitter: @nickyp_author

Bleeding Ink Tale: Bad Baby

Ink Babes: Hi Nicky! Welcome to the Author Spotlight! Please tell us a little bit about yourself.

NP: I’m a UK author writing: horror, paranormal romance and YA supernatural stories and novels.

Ink Babes:All the genres we love! What sparked the idea for your Bleeding Ink tale?

NP: I’m a big fan of science and I read an article in the UK magazine ‘New Scientist’ on how the size of the brain at birth can predict a baby’s behaviour in later life – I twisted the theory round, added in a bit of government paranoia, and suddenly Bad Baby was born.

Ink Babes: It’s amazing how just looking into the inner workings of the human body can spark something so frightening. Do you have a fear of anything unusual, Nicky?
NP: Getting lost. I know its pretty irrational but especially getting lost when driving – I hate driving to new places alone just in case I can’t find them. I do have an awful sense of direction as well – which really doesn’t help!

Ink Babes: Well, you have a wonderful sense of direction when writing your stories. Who is your favorite author and why?

NP: I love reading and have quite a few favourite authors. The top ones will vary depending on what I’m reading at the time. Recently I really liked Suzanne Collins’ Hunger Games (film didn’t do it justice), Isaac Marion’s Warm Bodies (hopefully it’s up and coming film will do it justice). and I am currently reading Karen Marie Moning’s ‘Fever’ series. My all time favourite author is Poppy Z Brite,  especially her early horrors like ‘Lost Souls’ and her short story collection ‘Swamp Foetus’ – she has the ability to turn even the most horrible things into beautiful, almost poetic, prose.

Ink Babes: Ooh, KMM! Love, love, love the Fever Series, and Collins’ trilogy is right up there on our YA list of favs.  Nicky, tell us who is the person you feel supported you most as a writer.

NP:My mum has been the most consistent supporter of my writing – she’s also the biggest critic! She always wanted to be a writer herself but life(me and my brother) got in her way. I would also have to cite my writers’ group here too. It’s so wonderful to be able to meet up with like minded people on a regular basis. They’re a great bunch of imaginative, supportive and amazing people.

Ink Babes: It’s wonderful to have a mum who appreciates writing from a writer’s perspective. What a wonderful support. And, having met each other on Kelley Armstrong’s online writing group, we Ink Babes understand the wonderfully creative things that can happen when you meet authors that jive online.

It’s been great having you drop by today, Nicky. Before we go, is there anything that you would like to say to our Bleeding Ink readers?

NP: Thanks for reading. I’ve just finished my first novel which is a cross genre supernatural urban horror. If you liked ‘Bad Baby” keep up-to-date with my work at http://www.creativemindswriting.co.uk/page8.htm I’m also on Twitter – you can find me here: @NickyP_Author

Ink Babes: Thanks for stepping into the spotlight today, Nicky!

We’d like to congratulate BigBear85 who won a copy of Bleeding Ink – A Collection of Dark Tales for commenting on our last blog posting.
If you’d like to win your own copy of Bleeding Ink – A Collection of Dark Tales, please comment below. Contest ends Midnight July 25th.

Ever Yours,

The Ink Babes

PRESS RELEASE FOR BLEEDING INK – NOW AVAILABLE AT SMASHWORDS!

Hear ye!  Hear ye!

Ink Babes Press announces the release of

Bleeding Ink – a Collection of Dark Tales

As promised, this anthology will thrill you, confound you, and have you sitting at the edge of your seat with over sixty deliciously dark tales leaving you breathless, in bloody stitches, or scared half-to-death!

This compilation of paranormal, supernatural, dark and twisted works— penned by forty of today’s most talented and witty writers, novice and veteran alike—will have you looking over your shoulder and turning on all the lights!

Purchase your copy today at www.smashwords.com

NOTE: As this book is rated “Adult Content” in Smashwords you must deactivate the “Adult Filter” in order to search/view.

The Long Journey

We are pleased to annouce that all the pieces for the anthology have now been selected!

*dances*

HUGE thank-you to all those who submitted to Bleeding Ink. Whether you were chosen for publication or not, we were honoured for the opportunity to read and share in your work.

We are now in the process of editing and compiling the accepted submissions and author bio’s as we prepare them for publication. Also working on a bloody good cover etc. *evil grin*

Our release goal date is June 1st so stay tuned for further updates!

Ever Yours,

The Ink Babes

Pat/Tammy/Lisa

%d bloggers like this: