Bleeding Ink Author Spotlight – Sally A. Wolf

Welcome Children of the Night to the Author Spotlight

Sally A. Wolf believes that a writer should write always, and she always has. Passionate about the written word, she reads voraciously, blogs, and wrote her first dark story at 10 years old. Happily married, Sally is the mother of four children who beg her to tell them bedtime stories of her own creation.

Bleeding Ink Tales: The Devil’s Daughter & I Am A…

Ink Babes: Welcome Sally, to the Author Spotlight. Let’s begin with you telling us a little bit about yourself.

SW: I believe that a writer should write always, and I always have. I am passionate about the written word, I read voraciously, blog, and wrote my first story at 10 years old. Happily married, I am the mother of four children who love to hear me tell them bedtime stories of my own creation.

Ink Babes: What a wonderfully lucky audience!  What sparked the ideas for your Bleeding Ink tales?

SW: Both of my tales were flash fiction entries at http://forum.devinwrites.com/ “I am a…” was created for the October prompt “Begin a story with this line: No one believed the curse was real”.  “The Devil’s Daughter” was created for the November contest “Write a story about a dark angel”.

Ink Babes: Love, love, love prompts! They give us a creative jolt!  Tell us Sally, do you have a fear of anything unusual?
SW: For the most part I am not afraid of anything, except maybe driving, but I do have a slight fear of large grasshoppers. My brothers dumped a whole jar of them on my head when I was little and ever since I have been a little bit wary of them.

Ink Babes: And how did your interest in writing originate?
SW: When I was a little girl I was abused by my stepmother and her son. To escape this pain I read whatever I could. As I grew older I realized that the books are what kept me alive all of those years. I wanted to give that salvation to someone else so I started writing. This gave me an outlet for all of my bottled up emotions and I was free for the first time in my life.

Ink Babes:  The power of the written word never held more significance… We’re sorry to hear about your past but truly inspired by your honesty and strength.

What are you working on now?
SW: Right now I am working on the sixth installment of my Detective Katherine Pig Series. Set to be released by the end of this year.

Ink Babes: A sixth installment? Congratulations! We wonder, with such success, have you ever hated something you wrote but everyone else loved?

SW: Funny you should ask, both of my entries for this very anthology were ones I was not sure of or even thought were any good.

Ink Babes: We Ink Babes were on the look-out for unique tales. We loved both of yours.

Thank you so much for sharing with us today, Sally. Before we turn off the spotlight, is there anything that you would like to say to our Bleeding Ink readers?

SW: Thank you for taking the time to broaden your mind as a reader and fill it with these wonderful stories written by talented writers.

Discover Sally’s tales and those of 39 other authors, by purchasing your own copy of Bleeding Ink – A Collection of Dark Tales, or by posting a comment for your chance to win a copy of the anthology.

Ever Yours,

The Ink Babes

Leave a comment

5 Comments

  1. Love your work Sally, keep it going! 🙂

    Reply
  2. Corinne

     /  August 31, 2012

    Short – but poignant! Creativity often comes from a place of pain – but it doesn’t have to…joy is a more reliable muse. Thank you, Ms. Wolf, for sharing both with us though your work. Moving portrait, dear Ink Babes – suffuse with heart – and soul.

    Reply
  3. Oh, Sally, what a wonderful interview! I’m so proud of you and your success! xox

    Reply
  1. Bleeding Ink Author Spotlight – Sally A. Wolf « Sallyawolf's Blog

Leave a Reply

