Bleeding Ink Author Spotlight – J.A. Campbell

Welcome Dark Fiction Fans to the Bleeding Ink Author Spotlight

J. A Campbell writes fantasy novels. When Julie is not out riding her horse, she can usually be found sitting in front of her computer with a cat on her lap and her dog at her side.

Bleeding Ink Tales – By Full Moon’s Light and Roses for the Devil.

Ink Babes: Welcome Julie! Great to have you join the Ink Babes today. Would you tell us a little bit about yourself.

JAC: I’m pretty normal I think… er, wait a minute. Nope, not… I write, I ride horses and I play and do recreational herding with my dog. That’s me. Sometimes I see my friends and I have a day job. I love the outdoors and I’m happiest when I’m in the country or the mountains and writing.
Ink Babes: Sounds wonderful. With all that inspiration around you, what sparked the idea for your Bleeding Ink tales?

By Full Moon’s Light started as my playing around with the idea that one of Kat’s best friends is a vampire hunter… what happens when he finds out what she is? How does he find out, since she’s pretty careful? I was playing with those ideas when this story came about.

I honestly can’t remember how I thought of Roses for the Devil. It’s related to other stories me and a friend have cowritten in that world. I think I wanted to write a story about deadly roses.

Ink Babes: Do you have a fear of anything unusual, Julie?
JAC: Only if you count mealworms as an unusual fear. *shudders*

Ink Babes: Eww! Haha, I think many readers would be shuddering along with you! 

Tell us what genre you love to write?

JAC: I love Fantasy, all forms of it. To me Fantasy includes horror, urban fantasy, high fantasy, steampunk, all of those and more. My favorite stories blend elements from all the genres, though I do tend to write darker tales. I’m mean to my main characters.

Ink Babes: We love writers who don’t hold back. What about your writing routine? Do you do anything strange or quirky?

JAC: Mostly it involves sitting at my desk and tea. Tea is key, if I’m having a hard time focusing, I get a cup of tea. It’s almost like a trigger for my brain to get into writing mode.

Ink Babes:  What are you working on now?

JAC: My list is intimidating. The short version is: Edits on a Steampunk called Serpent Queen that I hope to have out this fall, Edits on several Doc stories, the next Clanless Novel (Senior Year Bites was the first), Line edits on Summer Break Blues – the second Clanless novel, a short story submission to an anthology… yeah, that’s the short list.

Ink Babes: That is intimidating and fantastic! We’ll make sure to update everyone with release dates. Thanks for stepping into the spotlight, Julie!

You can find out more about Julie’s books at www.writerjacampbell.com

The winner from those who commented on our last spotlight was Katherine Bird!

Please comment for a chance to win a copy of Bleeding Ink – A Collection of Dark Tales.

Ever Yours,

The Ink Babes

Leave a comment

11 Comments

  1. Thanks for having me!

    Reply
  2. I enjoyed both these stories in the collection. Well done, Julie and Ink Babe ladies.

    Reply
  3. Thanks!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

    Julie

    Reply
  4. Mealworms….mealworms….muhuhuhhahaha! That’s quite a ‘short list’, Ms. Campbell. I am excited to see that Doc is on the short list. I await the next story with baited breath. Actually, its garlic breath, so I guess that would be ‘I await the next story with repellent breath’.

    Reply
  5. Corinne

     /  August 8, 2012

    Fascinating tidbits leave us wanting more, Inkbabes, and you always deliver. Ms. Campbell, your work is compelling and we all wish you every success in your career.

    Reply
  6. Thank you for stopping by Sam and Corinne!

    Reply
  7. CANNOT wait for your next novel! 🙂 Love that you were a part of this anthology. *hugs* 🙂

    Reply

Leave a Reply

