Bleeding Ink Author Spotlight – Martin Cohen

Welcome those who love dark poetry to the Bleeding Ink Author Spotlight

Martin Cohen is a retired computer programmer who loves dancing, writing poetry, and solving math problems. He is not sure where this poem came from, but he does not want to visit there too often.

Bleeding Ink Tale: Drizzle (a Haiku)

Ink Babes: Welcome to the Author Spotlight, Martin. We’re thrilled to have you visit with us today. Please,  tell us a little bit about yourself.

MC: As I said, like most of you, I am a retired computer programmer who loves dancing (swing, latin, foxtrot, others), writing poems, and solving math problems.

Ink Babes: Don’t know about those math problems – the word conundrum comes to mind.  However, we’ve been known to cut a rug or two! LOL!  Martin, what sparked the idea for your Bleeding Ink poem?

MC: Don’t really know. I do carry a knife, and have never used it for anything in the least bit violent. I somehow got the idea for the last line and decided to make it a haiku. The poem does make me feel uncomfortable – I usually write light verse.

Ink Babes: Uncomfortable, you say? Begs the question: What do you fear?

MC: I don’t like horror films. I love roller coasters.

Ink Babes: You thrill-seeker, you!  What do you do when you are not writing?

MC: I am very good at nothinging.

Ink Babes: Is that so? Hmm…we wonder what you enjoy writing?

MC: I like to write light verse with a twist. Here are two short examples:

1. A haiku.

The modern haiku
Is no longer restricted
Five seven five – haa!

2.  Title: “For extra credit, diagram this sentence”

If I only knew what I thought I knew when I thought I knew what I knew,

and if I only was what I thought I was when I thought I was what I was,

and if I only had what I thought I had when I thought I had what I had,

then maybe I’d be what I thought I was when thought I knew what I had.

Not quite suitable for your anthology.

Ink Babes: That’s okay, we’ll forgive you…this time. When you write do you work with an outline?

MC: I just write. I often have no idea where a poem is going. I write a lot with rhyme and meter. The first line just appears and determines the meter, the next few lines determine the rhyme scheme, and the poem eventually ends.

Ink Babes: And what is your writing routine? Do you do anything strange or quirky?
 
MC: I keep my phone (A Droid 2 with physical keyboard) beside me at night. When am idea occurs, I open it up and start keying it in. I get a lot of my ideas about 2AM.

Ink Babes: Very cool! It’s going on our list of “gotta have’s” Is there anything that you would like to say to our Bleeding Ink readers?

MC:  Don’t get caught.

Ink Babes: LOL! Thanks for stepping into the Spotlight, Martin.  In the words of a funny poet we know, you were Fifty Shades of Polka-Dot!

Post a Haiku, or other form of poetry,  in the comments section to win a copy of Bleeding Ink – A Collection of Dark Tales

Ever Yours,

The Ink Babes

Leave a comment

2 Comments

  1. Corinne

     /  July 30, 2012

    Getting to know you, getting to know all about you…what fun! Who knows what lurks inside the heads of horror writers? Thanks Mr. Larsen, for a window to your soul. Thanks Ink Babes, for giving us food for thought…creepy thoughts, but thoughts, nonetheless…heh, heh, heh.

    Reply
  2. Still chuckling over the modern haiku, lol, nicely done. 😉 The wonderful thing about being a writer is how it sometimes surprises you. A gift. 🙂

    Reply

Leave a Reply

