Bleeding Ink Author Spotlight – Christian Larsen

 
Welcome Seekers of Stories Strangely True to the Bleeding Ink Author Spotlight
 

Christian A. Larsen’s fiction appears in What Fears Become (Imajin Books), Sparks: Exciting New Fantasy from Today’s Brightest Stars (Earthbound Fiction), and A Feast of Frights (The Horror Zine Books). He lives with his wife and two sons in the fictional town of Northport, Illinois.

Bleeding Ink Tale – Club 27
 

Ink Babes: Welcome to the Author Spotlight, Christian.  Would you tell us about yourself.

 
CL: I’ve been writing, more or less, since I was 10, but didn’t get into writing regularly until about four or five years ago. I started out writing Twilight Zone-style science fiction, and have branched out into straight horror as well. I have also worked as a high school English teacher, a rock radio host, a newspaper reporter, and a printer’s devil.
 
Ink Babes: My! What an interesting life you’ve led.  Printer’s devil? Sounds almost as dangerous as being a teacher!  What sparked the idea for your Bleeding Ink tale?
 
CL: I wrote “Club 27” shortly after Amy Winehouse died. I’d heard a lot about the coincidences of so many famous entertainers, musicians in particular, dying at age 27, but never saw a story written about it. I don’t think I explain its significance much, but the story does explore its significance, and what it means to be in the club from some of its own members’ perspectives.

Ink Babes: Your story is unique. We felt like participants wending our way through the club, brushing shoulders with the dead and famous. A sad and eerie feeling, really. How about you?  Is there anything that seriously creeps you out?

CL:  It seems like horror writers are either scared of everything or nothing. I fall somewhere in the middle. I saw RETURN OF THE LIVING DEAD when I was eleven, and zombies still scare the hell out of me. And JAWS ruined the ocean for me forever. In fact, I’m even afraid of larger fresh water fish.
 
Ink Babes: No sh–!
 
CL: What if a sturgeon or a muskie wanted to take a chunk out of me? What could I do to stop it? Not a whole helluva lot.
 
Ink Babes:   We can imagine how those fears would inspire some interesting tales.  How did your interest in writing originate?
CL:  My interest in writing originated when I read The Hobbit in 4th grade. I imagine its like the kid who picked up the guitar for the first time after seeing Eddie Van Halen shred out a solo. You see someone else do it, and you just KNOW you have to do the same thing, at least categorically. The truly gifted people are the ones who don’t copy, but originate.
 
Ink Babes: Do you work with an outline when you’re creating, or just write?
CL:  When I write, it is almost always organically. That is to say, I don’t plan much out ahead of time. I have a vague sense of where the story is going to go, but I let my characters dictate the pace and direction. If I really don’t like what they’ve done, I can always go back and change it, but the funny thing about my characters is, they’re usually smarter than I am.
 
Ink Babes: LOL! So, what are you working on now?
CL: Right now, I am doing revisions on my first serious novel, LOSING TOUCH, about a man who starts to lose his tangibility. Beta notes are an extremely valuable tool, and I am so thankful for the people who read and commented on the first draft.
 
Ink Babes: Long live Beta readers!!  Thanks so much for joining us. It was a pleasure hanging out with you today.
 
Follow Christian on Twitter @exlibrislarsen and visit exlibrislarsen.com
 
Leave a comment for a chance to win a copy of Bleeding Ink – A Collection of Dark Tales!
 
Ever Yours,
The Ink Babes
 
Leave a comment

3 Comments

  1. Corinne

     /  July 26, 2012

    Another great introduction into the mind of a “Bleeding Ink” author! Smashing interview styling, Babes! Keep up the good work – it’s starting to feel like a real community, eh?

    Reply
  2. lol Christian, a man after my own heart. Good luck to you on your novel and be sure to keep us posted on it’s progress! 🙂

    Reply
  1. Bleeding Ink Author Spotlight – Christian Larsen « exlibrislarsen

Leave a Reply

