Bleeding Ink Author Spotlight – Nicky Peacock

Welcome Fans of Fiction Dark and Deadly to the Bleeding Ink Spotlight

 Nicky Peacock is a British author based in the UK. She has stories included in US and UK anthologies, and a list of published work can be found here: http://www.creativemindswriting.co.uk/page18.htm Ramblings from her dark mind can be found on twitter: @nickyp_author

Bleeding Ink Tale: Bad Baby

Ink Babes: Hi Nicky! Welcome to the Author Spotlight! Please tell us a little bit about yourself.

NP: I’m a UK author writing: horror, paranormal romance and YA supernatural stories and novels.

Ink Babes:All the genres we love! What sparked the idea for your Bleeding Ink tale?

NP: I’m a big fan of science and I read an article in the UK magazine ‘New Scientist’ on how the size of the brain at birth can predict a baby’s behaviour in later life – I twisted the theory round, added in a bit of government paranoia, and suddenly Bad Baby was born.

Ink Babes: It’s amazing how just looking into the inner workings of the human body can spark something so frightening. Do you have a fear of anything unusual, Nicky?
NP: Getting lost. I know its pretty irrational but especially getting lost when driving – I hate driving to new places alone just in case I can’t find them. I do have an awful sense of direction as well – which really doesn’t help!

Ink Babes: Well, you have a wonderful sense of direction when writing your stories. Who is your favorite author and why?

NP: I love reading and have quite a few favourite authors. The top ones will vary depending on what I’m reading at the time. Recently I really liked Suzanne Collins’ Hunger Games (film didn’t do it justice), Isaac Marion’s Warm Bodies (hopefully it’s up and coming film will do it justice). and I am currently reading Karen Marie Moning’s ‘Fever’ series. My all time favourite author is Poppy Z Brite,  especially her early horrors like ‘Lost Souls’ and her short story collection ‘Swamp Foetus’ – she has the ability to turn even the most horrible things into beautiful, almost poetic, prose.

Ink Babes: Ooh, KMM! Love, love, love the Fever Series, and Collins’ trilogy is right up there on our YA list of favs.  Nicky, tell us who is the person you feel supported you most as a writer.

NP:My mum has been the most consistent supporter of my writing – she’s also the biggest critic! She always wanted to be a writer herself but life(me and my brother) got in her way. I would also have to cite my writers’ group here too. It’s so wonderful to be able to meet up with like minded people on a regular basis. They’re a great bunch of imaginative, supportive and amazing people.

Ink Babes: It’s wonderful to have a mum who appreciates writing from a writer’s perspective. What a wonderful support. And, having met each other on Kelley Armstrong’s online writing group, we Ink Babes understand the wonderfully creative things that can happen when you meet authors that jive online.

It’s been great having you drop by today, Nicky. Before we go, is there anything that you would like to say to our Bleeding Ink readers?

NP: Thanks for reading. I’ve just finished my first novel which is a cross genre supernatural urban horror. If you liked ‘Bad Baby” keep up-to-date with my work at http://www.creativemindswriting.co.uk/page8.htm I’m also on Twitter – you can find me here: @NickyP_Author

Ink Babes: Thanks for stepping into the spotlight today, Nicky!

We’d like to congratulate BigBear85 who won a copy of Bleeding Ink – A Collection of Dark Tales for commenting on our last blog posting.
If you’d like to win your own copy of Bleeding Ink – A Collection of Dark Tales, please comment below. Contest ends Midnight July 25th.

Ever Yours,

The Ink Babes

Advertisements
Leave a comment

3 Comments

  1. Corinne

     /  July 26, 2012

    Horror writers are just ordinary people, right? Just like the lovely Ms Peacock. Thanks for sharing your story with us! So enjoying the exchange of small details and large ideas.

    Reply
  2. Nicky I really loved your story, warped and wonderful! 😉 I also have to say, I love your name, I just like saying it! 🙂

    Reply
  3. Thanks ! Proud to be a part of the Bleeding Ink anthology.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out / Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out / Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out / Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out / Change )

Connecting to %s

%d bloggers like this: