Bleeding Ink Author Spotlight – Nathan J.D.L. Rowark

 
Welcome Darklings to the Bleeding Ink Author Spotlight
 

Nathan J.D.L. Rowark is a horror writer who lives in London, England. His credits include works published in the Horrorzine, Schlock webzine and various print based publications. Nathan hopes to become further recognised in the field of literary terror, returning to his pen after a 20 year absence.

Bleeding Ink Tale – A Cat in Hell’s Chance
 
 
Ink Babes: Welcome to the Bleeding Ink Author Spotlight, Nathan.  Please, tell us a little about yourself.
 
NR:  I’m thirty four years old (God that happened quick). I started writing when I was six years old. I wrote a novel when I was twelve, then ducked out for eighteen years.
 
Ink Babes: What??
 
NR: I know.  But, I started writing poetry again two years ago, and have been published in thirty different e-zines and publications since. Two anthologies I’m featured in are in the British Library, and I now mainly write novellas. My first novel entitled ‘Infatuation’ will be available on Amazon in October of this year (2012.)
 
Ink Babes:  Impressive!  By the way, we’ll have to do another interview to find out what you were up to for those 18 years.  So, what sparked the idea for your Bleeding Ink tale?
 
NR:  My cat, plain and simple. He was old, and nearing the end of his life. It made me very sad. At eighteen he had caught a mouse that came into my kitchen, whilst the back door to the garden had been left open. I was very proud of him. I started to wonder, what if the mouse returned to wreak vengeance? ‘A Cat in Hell’s Chance’ was born. Miss you Snarf, still sore about that one.
 
Ink Babes: R.I.P Snarf.  Grief, love, hate, there is a vast palette of emotions that inspire great stories. Fear being one that sparks many a  dark tale. What is your darkest fear?
 
NR:  The same as Salvador Dali – death. I can’t stand it, am unable to reason it. I don’t fear my own, just the death of those I love.
 
Ink Babes: Nathan, who is your favorite author?
NR:  My favourite horror author is Clive Barker.
 
Ink Babes: Why is he your fav?
NR: Because, he’s unafraid to write what he sees in his mind, and to challenge convention by doing so. He also appears to have artistic integrity.
 
Ink Babes: What are you working on now?
NR:  I’ve just finished and submitted a piece for the Salvador Dali anthology ‘Dalliances’ to Obsolescence Press (Hope they accept.) I am currently working on the last pages of my first novel, a paranormal romance set in the near future entitled ‘Infatuation’ (as mentioned above.)
 
Ink Babes: Thank you for standing center stage for today’s Author Spotlight, Nathan. We’ll be looking out for “Infatuation”…sounds intriguing.
 
 Leave a comment for a chance to win a copy of Bleeding Ink – A Collection of Dark Tales
Contest ends Sunday July 22 at Midnight (EST)
  
Ever Yours, 
The Ink Babes
Leave a comment

10 Comments

  1. Real nice interview. I always enjoy reading about where other writers get their inspiration for stories!

    Reply
  2. Love it! Great stuff and enjoyed reading about Nathan! 🙂

    Reply
  3. Everyone wrote such great stories 🙂

    Reply
  4. Enjoyed reading about you Nathan! Hugs about your kitty. The idea for your story sounds really interesting! Happy writing 🙂

    Reply
  5. Sandra Clark

     /  July 19, 2012

    Very well done, looks like you are also talented in interviews. As for death we are all afraid of loosing a loved ones.
    Sandra Clark

    Reply
  6. Corinne

     /  July 19, 2012

    To share insight is a magical thing indeed. Thank you Ink Babes for the chance to pick the brains of your authors. And with this delightful forum, our world is smaller and more connected than we believed probable – or possible. Much success, Mr. Rowark!

    Reply
  7. Awe so sad to lose a pet. Or anything really, it’s just not fair. Great to hear about all your projects and loved your piece. Thank you so much for sharing with us! 🙂

    Reply
  8. I am always a fan of a fellow cat lover lol, awesome interview, would love to know what it felt like for him to pick back up writing fiction after such a long time away specially since poetry came first then fiction

    Reply
  9. CONGRATULATIONS BIGBEAR85!!! You won a copy of Bleeding Ink – A Collection of Dark Tales. Email us at inkbabespress@gmail and tell us if you’d prefer a pdf or epub version of the anthology.

    Reply
  10. pdlyons

     /  July 23, 2012

    nice hat. cool cats.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

